Adium

Opened 11 years ago

Closed 11 years ago

Last modified 9 years ago

#10960 closed defect (fixed)

"Block Contact" on toolbar doesn't confirm

Reported by: jdw Owned by: nobody
Milestone: Adium 1.4 Component: Adium UI
Version: 1.3 Severity: normal
Keywords: Block Contact Cc:
Patch Status:

Description

On Adium X 1.3 on Mac OS X 10.5.4, and probably in many previous versions, the "Block Contact" action in the default toolbar does not confirm the action, it just instantly blocks the person with minimal visual feedback.

In contrast, the "Block..." context menu on the contact list, the "Block..." item on the "Contact" menu, and the COMMAND-ALT-B keyboard shortcut all request confirmation before blocking the contact, which seems like the appropriate behavior.

I feel like a contact should never be blocked without verification; I've discovered on several occasions that important contacts were being blocked, and I had no idea how they got that way. I'm surprised that I could accidentally click this without noticing more than once, but it is the only mechanism I've found that blocks a contact without confirmation so it's the most likely explanation.

Therefore...

The bug: the "Block Contact" toolbar button behavior does not match that of other blocking methods

The fix: Change the button behavior to match the other blocking methods. :-)

Interim workaround: Manually remove the "Block Contact" icon from the toolbar.

Thanks for reading, and thanks for Adium X!

Attachments (1)

confirmBlock.diff (1.4 KB) - added by wixardy 11 years ago.
added confirmation to chat window

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (5)

comment:1 Changed 11 years ago by jas8522

  • Milestone set to Adium 1.4

Even if one were to disagree about the need to warn the user, it should at least be changed to match how blocking works in other locations for consistency.

Changed 11 years ago by wixardy

added confirmation to chat window

comment:2 Changed 11 years ago by wixardy

This is one solution the other is removing prompting from the menu option.

comment:3 Changed 11 years ago by zacw

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

(In [26062]) Validate the Block/Unblock toolbar item, disabling it if the account doesn't support privacy. Add a confirmation dialog when clicking the block/unblock icon in the toolbar. Fixes #10960.

comment:4 Changed 9 years ago by wixardy

Ticket #12373 has been marked as a duplicate of this ticket.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.